Texas CHLConcealed Handgun License
About the Instructor
Robert Greene is a 10 year law enforcement veteran, NRA Certified and State Licensed. Read more
REGULAR DISCOUNTS $55 - Military-Fire-Police!
"Laws that forbid the carrying of arms...disarm only those who are neither inclined nor determined to commit crimes. Such laws only make things worse for the assaulted and better for the assassins; they serve to encourage than to prevent homicides, for an unarmed man may be attacked with greater confidence than an armed man."
- Thomas Jefferson -
Texas CHL Certification Course
"It will be found an unjust and unwise jealousy to deprive a man of his natural liberty upon the supposition he may abuse it." -George Washington-
The State of Texas has adopted legislation that allows its law abiding citizens to carry concealed handguns for self protection. Obtaining a Concealed Handgun License for the State of Texas requires successful completion of a minimum 4 to 6 hour certification course which is outlined by the Texas Department of Public Safety and covers topics on the use of force, gun safety, gun storage, conflict resolution and Texas laws pertaining to use of force as a defense, licensing requirements and laws regulating concealed handgun license holders.
To obtain a Concealed Handgun License in the State of Texas you must complete the minimum 4 to 6 hour course, qualify with a handgun in accordance with the DPS course of fire, and pass a 25 question exam. A student must then apply to the state and pay the current fees and undergo a complete background check for the state to issue a license. There is currently no requirement as to which order an applicant must follow regarding class and online application. The entire process requires the completion of both. Either may be completed before the other.
Applicants may complete their State of Texas Online Application which includes all application questions, affidavits, and payment arrangements. Fingerprints may then be obtained at the Fingerprint Applicant Services of Texas provider (MorphoTrust aka Identigo) location after the application has been completed and payment received online. The completed application checklist, along with the required proficiency certificate (CHL-100) issued by our instructor can then be returned to the DPS (along with two passport style photos and the CHL-6 signature page if you do not have a Texas Driver's License), to complete the application process.
If you have questions pertaining to your already submitted application, please contact the DPS CHL Division directly:
Lost or Stolen CHLs may also be reported HERE.
DO NOT MAIL FORMS TO OUR OFFICE!
- WE ARE NOT THE DPS! -
All application documents should be sent directly to the DPS at:
Regulatory Licensing Service MSC 0245
Texas Department of Public Safety
PO Box 15888
Austin, TX 78761-5888